Shopping Basket
Your Basket is Empty
Quantity:
Subtotal
Taxes
Delivery
Total
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should receive an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Basket

Company Message

Fishing Upstate NY

My Blog

Blog

Pinning Small Water

Posted on 6 November, 2012 at 7:58
Float fishing with a center pin reel has become one of the hottest ways to fish for steelhead. It's many advantages include precise depth and speed control along with a very natural and long drift. When fishing small streams many people believe there is no advantage for the pin due to the short drifts and shallow water that is commonly found on these waters. This is far from true. 
These smaller waters often have small pools and short runs that are perfect for float fishing.  The pin gives your the advantage of being able to precisely run your bait through each section of these pools and runs. 
You will want to change your setup to match the water you are fishing. One problem with small waters is they often have over hanging trees and brush that can get in the way when fishing with the long rods normally used when pin fishing. There are to options you can choose from to fix this problem. The first is buying a second center pin set up with an eleven and a half foot rod. I like the St. Croix personally. However this is a costly fix especially if you don't fish small waters all that often. The second option is to put your center pin reel on the nine and half to ten and half foot noodle rod you probably already own. This will cut down on the distance you are able to cast but on small streams it is not an issue. 
The other setup change that will need to be made relates to the low clear water you will often be fishing in. The floats you normally fish on larger waters will often be to large. They will either make to much splash when entering the water or will easily be seen by fish due to the short leaders you will be fishing. I recommend get some floats ranging from 4 grams to 2 grams for fishing these streams. This will allow you to fish shorter leaders and cast quietly. 
Don't forget you may want to drop down to 4 pound leader material when the water is low and clear. 

Categories: Fishing Tips and Tricks

Post a Comment

Oops!

Oops, you forgot something.

Oops!

The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

52 Comments

Reply dissertation structure methodology
10:35 on 10 May, 2013 
This blog post is relevant and to the point.I really liked the way you highlighted some really important and significant points, I recommend it to everyone visiting this blog. Thanks
Reply Pompano beach pool services
7:04 on 25 February, 2014 
Blogger’s brilliant Efforts are really appreciable. Anyone can easily understand the thoughts of your blog Pinning Small Water.Also I like the conclusions made on this topic which is really very informative.
Reply stron
12:39 on 17 August, 2014 
gave an opportunity to the uppermost level of match finder system pieces of furniture and overall performance towards site visitor requirements If we wish such type of retaining wall content offered us all certainly for quite some time and even would not get any sort of scratches should decide on a zone in great quality
Reply car title loans chicago
11:00 on 16 July, 2015 
Under the states of the worldwide emergency and the dispossessions emergency in the USA, individuals are making an effort not to lose their properties, or on the off chance that they lose them, they are attempting to get them back. Here is the manner by which Americans secure their homes. As opposed to pressing and leaving the keys of their homes to the banks, Americans began to dissent.
Reply check cashing san-diego
19:31 on 26 July, 2015 
The borrowers can dissect for the trader of the motorbike to get a proper game plan. Aback the greater part of the contraption is guaranteed by the borrower and the dealer is picked, at completely that point in the event that he goods up a test through the on the web.
Reply cash advance
19:05 on 11 September, 2015 
Doubtlessly, auto title advances do go on a premium rate which will be controlled by the bank when you round out the application. Be careful that premium rates and terms can move by and large among vehicle title headway banks.
Reply check cashing
12:37 on 3 January, 2016 
Payday loans are loans that are commonly activated for by bodies who are in charge of some quick cash. Payday loans are there for aback you are briefly abbreviate of money and charge some for an emergency. The accustomed time anatomy for a payday accommodation is about a brace of weeks. This alone applies if you ask to borrow a baby amount, like a brace of hundred dollars.
Reply Bunning
20:22 on 7 February, 2016 
Nice to satisfy you, i'm Allen. Since she was 18 she has been working as a computer operator.
My wife and that i decided to live in Maine. One of the
very best things on the planet foor her is solving puzzles and she would not stop carrying
it out. Check out your latest news on my website: http://www.yelp.com/biz/ameri-dry-waterproofing-hunt-valley
Reply Nelson
4:27 on 21 March, 2016 
mlb shop black frioday clearance black friday nfl shop
promotional codes nba shop promo
Reply Current
7:02 on 5 April, 2016 
All Star (Siobhan) sports jerseys wholesale Women NBA
Reply Donovan
6:47 on 7 April, 2016 
Authentic coach factory outlet online cyber monday mlb sholp clearance Reviews of coach factory outlet online
Reply Woollard
6:41 on 11 April, 2016 
Coach factory outletts onlihe net black fridɑy nba shop promo code Baseball coaching shoes clearance
Reply Fitchett
23:25 on 19 December, 2016 
authentic nfl jerseys china wholesale (Cliff) jersey wholesale china
Reply Lyell
23:50 on 29 December, 2016 
When is sales for wholesale Justin Britt jerseys? Find site:
Spurs 9 Tony Parker White Youth Stitched NBA Jersey
Reply Kimball
7:35 on 22 September, 2017 
Cheap Nike Texans 59 Whitney Mercilus Navy Blue Team Color Youth Stitched NFL Elite Jersey,Cheap mlb throwback jerseys professionall supplier online free shipping
oversea.
Reply 2323
17:06 on 21 July, 2018 

32
3
Reply cheap oakley australia
2:30 on 29 September, 2018 
You will want to change your setup to match the water you are fishing.
Reply
6:11 on 8 January, 2019 
FB
Reply coupon codes
8:56 on 15 January, 2019 
Excellent post. I want to thank you for this informative read, I really appreciate sharing this great post. Keep up your work.
Reply yeezy boost
8:49 on 19 January, 2019 
golden goose superstar https://www.goldengooselove.com/superstar-c-19/, Moncler Kids Vests https://www.moncleroutletus.com/moncler-kids-vests-c-68/, Moncler Men Jackets https://www.moncleroutletdeals.com/moncler-men-jackets-c-5/, Air Jordan 1 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-1-c-2/, golden goose v star https://www.goldengoosesneaker.com/golden-goose-v-star-c-7/, Ugg Gloves https://www.uggaccs.com/, Air Jordan 6 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-6-c-10/, golden goose hi star https://www.goldengooselove.com/hi-star-c-17/, Golden Goose V Star https://www.goldengooser.com/v-star-c-19/, Nike LeBron 15 https://www.nikekyrie4s.com/nike-lebron-15-c-4/, Golden Goose Ball Star https://www.goldengooser.com/ball-star-c-14/, Moncler Women Jackets https://www.moncleroutletdeals.com/moncler-women-jackets-c-7/, Nike LeBron 16 https://www.lebron16s.com/, Golden Goose Superstar https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-superstar-c-10_18/,
Golden Goose Starter https://www.goldengoose-ggdb.com/golden-goose-starter-c-7/, Air Jordan 3 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-3-c-7/, Golden Goose V Star https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-v-star-c-10_19/, Air Jordan 11 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-11-c-4/, Golden Goose Superstar https://www.goldengoose-ggdb.com/golden-goose-superstar-c-1/, yeezy boost infant https://www.yeezyboostsite.com/yeezy-boost-infant-c-3/, Golden Goose May https://www.goldengooser.com/may-c-15/, Balenciaga City Bags https://www.balenciagasale.com/balenciaga-city-bags-c-6/, Golden Goose Starter https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-starter-c-1_7/, Moncler Men Vests https://www.moncleroutletdeals.com/moncler-men-vests-c-3/, golden goose sneakers https://www.goldengoosesneaker.com/, lunarglide 7 https://www.nikelunarsale.com/lunarglide-7-c-11/, golden goose superstar https://www.goldengoosesneaker.com/golden-goose-superstar-c-6/, flyknit lunar 2 https://www.nikelunarsale.com/flyknit-lunar-2-c-2/, Nike Kyrie 4 https://www.nikekyrie4s.com/, Balenciaga Backpacks https://www.balenciagasale.com/balenciaga-backpacks-c-5/, golden goose outlet https://www.goldengooselove.com/, Air Jordan XXXI https://www.jordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-xxxi-c-1/, golden goose francy https://www.goldengooselove.com/francy-c-15/, Golden Goose Woman https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-woman-c-10/, Nike Air Yeezy https://www.jordan12bulls.com/nike-air-yeezy-c-15/, yeezy boost 500 https://www.yeezyboostsite.com/yeezy-boost-500-c-4/, Moncler Kids Coats https://www.moncleroutletus.com/moncler-kids-coats-c-67/, golden goose slide https://www.goldengoosesneaker.com/golden-goose-slide-c-5/, Nike Air Foamposite https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/nike-air-foamposite-c-12/, Moncler Scarf https://www.moncleroutletdeals.com/moncler-hats-scarf-c-4/, yeezy boost https://www.yeezyboostsite.com/, Moncler Women Coats https://www.moncleroutletus.com/moncler-women-coats-c-66/, Air Jordan Shoes https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/, yeezy boost 700 https://www.yeezyboostsite.com/yeezy-boost-700-c-5/, Golden Goose Shoes https://www.goldengoose-ggdb.com/, Air Jordan Sale https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/, flyknit lunar 1 https://www.nikelunarsale.com/flyknit-lunar-1-c-1/, Ugg Turn Cuff Glove https://www.uggaccs.com/ugg-turn-cuff-glove-c-68/, Balenciaga Sale https://www.balenciagasale.com/, Moncler Scarves Hats https://www.moncleroutletus.com/moncler-scarves-hats-c-73/, Golden Goose Mid Star https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-mid-star-c-1_4/, flyknit lunar 3 https://www.nikelunarsale.com/flyknit-lunar-3-c-3/, adidas Yeezy Boost 350 Infant https://www.jordan12bulls.com/adidas-yeezy-boost-infant-c-18/, Ugg Earmuff https://www.uggaccs.com/ugg-earmuff-c-66/, golden goose mid star https://www.goldengooselove.com/mid-star-c-11/, Golden Goose Sneakers https://www.goldengooser.com/, Golden Goose Man https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-man-c-1/, Golden Goose Superstar https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-superstar-c-1_8/, golden goose francy https://www.goldengoosesneaker.com/golden-goose-francy-c-1/, Moncler Women Jackets https://www.moncleroutletus.com/moncler-women-jackets-c-72/, Air Jordan 8 https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-8-c-9/, golden goose slide https://www.goldengooselove.com/slide-c-13/, adidas yeezy boost https://www.yeezyboostsite.com/, lunar 2016 https://www.nikelunarsale.com/lunar-2016-c-4/, Ugg Fingerless Glove https://www.uggaccs.com/ugg-fingerless-glove-c-67/, Valentino Slides https://www.valentinooutletvip.com/valentino-slides-c-4/, Valentino Sandals https://www.valentinooutletvip.com/valentino-sandals-c-3/, Golden Goose Sale https://www.goldengooseworld.com/, Golden Goose Mid Star https://www.goldengooser.com/mid-star-c-16/, Valentino Ballerina Flats https://www.valentinooutletvip.com/valentino-ballerina-flats-c-1/
, Golden Goose Slide https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-slide-c-1_6/, Moncler Men Jackets https://www.moncleroutletus.com/moncler-men-jackets-c-65/, Air Jordan 4 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-4-c-8/, Nike LeBron 16 https://www.lebron16s.com/nike-lebron-16-c-1/, Air Jordan 13 https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-13-c-4/, lunarglide 5 https://www.nikelunarsale.com/lunarglide-5-c-9/, Air Jordan 8 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-8-c-11/, golden goose mid star https://www.goldengoosesneaker.com/golden-goose-mid-star-c-4/, Air Jordan 12 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-12-c-5/, golden goose 2.12 https://www.goldengooselove.com/212-c-3/, moncler hats https://www.moncleraccs.com/moncler-hats-c-3/, Nike Air Yeezy https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/nike-air-yeezy-c-13/, golden goose starter https://www.goldengooselove.com/starter-c-5/, Valentino Pumps https://www.valentinooutletvip.com/valentino-pumps-c-2/, lunar flyknit htm nrg https://www.nikelunarsale.com/lunar-flyknit-htm-nrg-c-6/, Air Jordan 11 https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-11-c-2/, Air Jordan 9 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-9-c-12/, Moncler Women Vests https://www.moncleroutletus.com/moncler-women-vests-c-71/, Moncler Kids https://www.moncleroutletdeals.com/moncler-kids-c-2/, Balenciaga Shoes https://www.balenciagasale.com/balenciaga-shoes-c-9/, Nike LeBron 15 https://www.lebron16s.com/nike-lebron-15-c-3/, Moncler Outlet https://www.moncleroutletdeals.com/, Golden Goose Slide https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-slide-c-10_16/, Moncler Men Coats https://www.moncleroutletus.com/moncler-men-coats-c-69/, Air Jordan GS https://www.jordan12bulls.com/gs-air-jordans-c-13/, lunarglide 6 https://www.nikelunarsale.com/lunarglide-6-c-10/, Balenciaga Tote Bags https://www.balenciagasale.com/balenciaga-tote-bags-c-2/, Golden Goose Francy https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-francy-c-1_3/, golden goose ball star https://www.goldengooselove.com/ball-star-c-7/, Golden Goose Francy https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-francy-c-10_12/, Moncler Outlet Online https://www.moncleroutletus.com/, LeBron James Jerseys https://www.lebron16s.com/lebron-james-jerseys-c-2/, Moncler Men Coats https://www.moncleroutletdeals.com/moncler-men-coats-c-6/, Air Jordan 9 https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-9-c-10/, yeezy boost 350 https://www.yeezyboostsite.com/yeezy-boost-350-c-1/, Air Jordan 10 https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-10-c-1/, Golden Goose Slide https://www.goldengoose-ggdb.com/golden-goose-slide-c-9/, Air Jordan 3 https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-3-c-5/, Air Jordan 10 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-10-c-3/, Golden Goose Starter https://www.goldengooser.com/starter-c-17/, golden goose v star https://www.goldengooselove.com/v-star-c-9/, Air Jordan 5 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-5-c-9/, Golden Goose Starter https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-starter-c-10_17/, lunarglide 4 https://www.nikelunarsale.com/lunarglide-4-c-8/, Golden Goose Francy https://www.goldengoose-ggdb.com/golden-goose-francy-c-5/, Nike Kyrie 3 https://www.nikekyrie4s.com/nike-kyrie-3-c-2/, GS Air Jordans https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/gs-air-jordans-c-11/, Golden Goose Ball Star https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-ball-star-c-1_2/, golden goose shoes https://www.goldengoosesneaker.com/, Golden Goose Ball Star https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-ball-star-c-10_11/,
Balenciaga Outlet https://www.balenciagasale.com/, Air Jordan 13 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-13-c-6/, Moncler Sale https://www.moncleroutletdeals.com/, Air Jordan 6 https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-6-c-8/, Golden Goose Ball Star https://www.goldengoose-ggdb.com/golden-goose-ball-star-c-20/, Golden Goose Mid Star https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-mid-star-c-10_14/, Air Jordan 12 https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-12-c-3/, Ugg Glove Sale https://www.uggaccs.com/, Golden Goose Outlet https://www.goldengooseworld.com/, Moncler Kids Jackets https://www.moncleroutletus.com/moncler-kids-jackets-c-74/, nike lunar shoes https://www.nikelunarsale.com/, Jordan Shoes https://www.jordan12bulls.com/, Nike Kyrie 4 https://www.nikekyrie4s.com/nike-kyrie-4-c-3/, Ugg Cardy Glove https://www.uggaccs.com/ugg-cardy-glove-c-65/, Moncler Men Vests https://www.moncleroutletus.com/moncler-men-vests-c-70/, Balenciaga Caps https://www.balenciagasale.com/balenciaga-caps-c-8/, moncler accessories sale https://www.moncleraccs.com/moncler-accessories-c-1/, Golden Goose Mid Star https://www.goldengoose-ggdb.com/golden-goose-mid-star-c-17/, adidas Yeezy Boost 350 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/adidas-yeezy-boost-350-c-16/, yeezy boost 350 v2 https://www.yeezyboostsite.com/yeezy-boost-350-v2-c-2/, Balenciaga Shoulder Bags https://www.balenciagasale.com/balenciaga-shoulder-bags-c-3/, lunarepic flyknit https://www.nikelunarsale.com/lunarepic-flyknit-c-7/, Moncler Outlet https://www.moncleroutletus.com/, nike lunar sale https://www.nikelunarsale.com/, adidas Yeezy Boost 350 V2 https://www.jordan12bulls.com/adidas-yeezy-boost-350-v2-c-17/, GGDB Shoes https://www.goldengoose-ggdb.com/, Golden Goose May https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-may-c-10_13/, moncler scarf https://www.moncleraccs.com/moncler-scarves-c-2/, lunarglide 8 https://www.nikelunarsale.com/lunarglide-8-c-12/, Golden Goose Super Star https://www.goldengooser.com/super-star-c-12/, Air Jordan 5 https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-5-c-7/, Valentino Shoes https://www.valentinooutletvip.com/, moncler https://www.moncleraccs.com/, Valentino Outlet https://www.valentinooutletvip.com/, Golden Goose V Star https://www.goldengoose-ggdb.com/golden-goose-v-star-c-3/, Nike Air Foamposite https://www.jordan12bulls.com/nike-air-foamposite-c-14/, Moncler Women Coats https://www.moncleroutletdeals.com/moncler-women-coats-c-9/, Golden Goose Francy https://www.goldengooser.com/francy-c-10/, golden goose sale https://www.goldengooselove.com/, Kyrie 4 https://www.nikekyrie4s.com/, Valentino Sneakers https://www.valentinooutletvip.com/valentino-sneakers-c-5/, Moncler Women Vests https://www.moncleroutletdeals.com/moncler-women-vests-c-8/, Golden Goose Slide https://www.goldengooser.com/slide-c-13/, golden goose kids https://www.goldengoosesneaker.com/golden-goose-kids-c-3/, Golden Goose May https://www.goldengoose-ggdb.com/golden-goose-may-c-12/, Jordan Shoes Sale https://www.jordan12bulls.com/, golden goose hi star https://www.goldengoosesneaker.com/golden-goose-hi-star-c-2/, Golden Goose V Star https://www.goldengooseworld.com/golden-goose-v-star-c-1_9/, Air Jordan 4 https://www.airjordan12bulls.com/air-jordan-4-c-6/, LeBron 16 https://www.lebron16s.com/, lunar flyknit chukka https://www.nikelunarsale.com/lunar-flyknit-chukka-c-5/, Golden Goose https://www.goldengooser.com/